Meet our staff

At Chaucer we have a talented and passionate staff who work hard to help our children achieve. Spend some time getting to know our Chaucer team.

 
 
principal@chaucer.school.nz

Mr Michael Fletcher

Principal

I believe in striving for excellence as we travel the learning path together.

My favourite whakataukī is:

Whāia te iti kahurangi ki te tūohu koe

Me he maunga teitei

Aim for the highest cloud so that if you miss you will hit a lofty mountain.

principal@chaucer.school.nz
 

clafaele@chaucer.school.nz

Mrs Carmen Lafaele

Room 4 Teacher Y5 & 6, SENCO, Mutukaroa Co-ordinator

Every student is precious and one of a kind.

My job is to inspire, encourage minds to think, hands to create and hearts to love.

Kids must enjoy school, be challenged, be involved and be successful.

“Everybody is a Genius, but if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.” - Albert Einstein

clafaele@chaucer.school.nz
 

dpriestly@chaucer.school.nz

Mrs Denise Priestly

School Secretary

I have been working at Chaucer since 2008 as the School Secretary and am trained in first aid to help children in our care room. I have many years experience working in management for the New Zealand Police, Nursing and teaching English. I love working at Chaucer because our children are kind and caring, families are supportive and the staff are positive and friendly.

dpriestly@chaucer.school.nz
 

kgriffin@chaucer.school.nz

Ms Karen Griffin

Executive Officer

I have been working at Chaucer since 2004. I have many years accounts/office admin experience.     I am the Executive Officer at Chaucer. I love working here because it's a great school with a nice friendly atmosphere, where everyone makes great progress.

kgriffin@chaucer.school.nz
 

trainford@chaucer.school.nz

Ms Tina Ryan

Senior Teacher Senior School & Room 10 Teacher - Year 5 & 6

I am the Senior Syndicate Team Leader. I enjoy being able to provide learning experiences and opportunities for students to succeed and become lifelong learners.

trainford@chaucer.school.nz
 

jwoodill@chaucer.school.nz

Ms Jane Woodill

Senior Teacher Middle School & Room 1 Teacher - Year 3 & 4

 

jwoodill@chaucer.school.nz
 

amolloy@chaucer.school.nz

Ms Alanna Molloy

Senior Teacher Junior School & Room 15 Teacher - Year 2 & 3

Teaching is a great job - the children’s enthusiasm and excitement for learning is infectious! I love working with the fantastic kids at Chaucer School, watching them grow and make amazing progress. 

amolloy@chaucer.school.nz
 

sesau@chaucer.school.nz

Mrs Suraya Esau

Room 11 Teacher - Year 5 & 6

sesau@chaucer.school.nz
 

jpatel@chaucer.school.nz

Mr Jag Patel

Room 4 - Y5 & 6 Teacher & Classroom release teacher

jpatel@chaucer.school.nz
 

jzhao@chaucer.school.nz

Mr John Zhao

Room 3 Teacher - Year 3 & 4

I am from China. I enjoy teaching because I love to help my children to thrive.  I enjoy reading, music and all sorts of sports.

jzhao@chaucer.school.nz
 

ksimon@chaucer.school.nz

Miss Kelly Simon

Room 2 Teacher - Year 3 & 4

I started at Chaucer School in 2014. I love the diverse mix of cultures, and the values our students display in all aspects of their lives. I have a Bachelor of Education (Primary) and have had over 15 years experience in schools in many different capacities.

A favourite quote of mine is

“When you teach what you love,

And share what you know,

You open eyes, minds, hearts and souls

To unexpected worlds.”

ksimon@chaucer.school.nz
 

vgomathi@chaucer.school.nz

Miss Varsha Gomathi

Room 16 Teacher - Year 2

Vanakkam! My name is Varsha Gomathi. I believe that children learn through varied experiences at home and school. My aim is to support children in their learning and help them reach their potential.

My interests include Indian classical dancing (Bharathanatyam), playing badminton, learning new languages and spending time with family and friends.

“Education is not preparation for life; education is life itself” - John Dewey

vgomathi@chaucer.school.nz
 

sbhave@chaucer.school.nz

Miss Shibani Bhave

(Class teacher- on leave for the year 2017)

Namaste everyone. My name is Shibani Bhave and I love teaching because I believe I have the power of making a positive difference in the lives of the children I teach. My belief on teaching really ties in with my favourite quote which goes like this, “I touch lives. I teach.”

sbhave@chaucer.school.nz
 

ksellar@chaucer.school.nz

Mrs Kate Sellar

Room 13/14 Teacher - Year 1

ksellar@chaucer.school.nz
 

Mrs Sharon Hayward

Room 13/14 Teacher - Year 1

shayward@chaucer.school.nz
 

Ms Carol McBride

Room 6 Teacher - Year 0/1

 

Mrs Nancy Lee

Esol Teacher

 

sgamage@chaucer.school.nz

Mrs Shanthi Gamage

Librarian and Teacher-Aide

I started at Chaucer in 2007. I have a National Diploma in Teaching from the College of Education in Sri Lanka. I also have a Certificate for Teacher Aides from Massey University. I am a Teacher Aide and Librarian. I taught for 14 years in Sri Lanka and I love working at Chaucer because the staff are friendly and supportive and the children are lovely and caring. 

sgamage@chaucer.school.nz
 

sakauola@chaucer.school.nz

Mr Shane Akauola

Dance teacher

I am a former pupil of Chaucer School and have been a Teacher Aide at Chaucer since 2012.  I have volunteered coaching rugby teams and helped in the performing arts area with the school production.  I have a certificate in the performing arts and have sung at Coca-Cola Christmas in the park for 5 years. My other performing experience includes performances at the Sydney Opera House and roles in theatre productions at the Auckland Town Hall. I enjoy coaching hip-hop dance groups and soccer at Chaucer. I also enjoy teaching because I love seeing the progress that students make.

sakauola@chaucer.school.nz
 

Ms Sarah Lovell

Teacher Aide

I have been a Teacher Aide at Chaucer School since the start of 2013. I enjoy working at Chaucer because of all the fantastic interactions with the students.

 

Ms Ruchi Chowdhary

Teacher Aide

 

Ms Muwah Moo

Teacher Aide

 

Pauline Akauola

Teacher Aide

 

Mr Darryl TeBay

School Caretaker

 

John and Ann McNaughton

Cleaners

 

 

Chaucer School 

Chaucer Place
Blockhouse Bay
Auckland

P:  +64 (9) 626 6699
F: +64 (9) 627 2291
E:   admin@chaucer.school.nz